Welcome! Wednesday - Feb 20, 2019

Alibaba Group’s Changing Organizational Structure

Alibaba group was originally comprised of 5 subsidiaries including Alibaba B2B  Operations (Alibaba.com), Taobao, Alipay, Alibaba Cloud Computing and Yahoo! China. Since 2011, Alibaba group has made three major changes to reorganize its organizational structure.

  1. In 2011, Alibaba Group reorganized Taobao into three separate companies – Tmall.com, Taobao Marketplace and eTao – to better adapt to China’s fast-growing B2C market for e-commerce in June.
  2. In July 2012, Alibaba Group reorganized into seven business groups which Jack Ma called the “seven swords”. They are Alibaba B2B International Operations, Alibaba B2B China  Operations, Taobao Marketplace, Tmall.com, Juhuasuan, eTao and Alibaba Cloud Computing. Alipay was separated from Alibaba Group and became an affiliate of Alibaba Group.
  3. In 2013, Alibaba Group reorganized again into 25 business units. Alibaba Small and Micro Financial Services Group which includes Alipay, insurance, loans and guarantee  services to small businesses was formally founded in March 2013.



See more about Alibaba Group’s History and Milestones here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Predefined Skins

Primary Color

Background Color

Example Patterns

demo demo demo demo demo demo demo demo demo demo